For Research. For Berlin.

Awards Committee


The Awards Committee, in consultation with the Jury, decides on all issues concerning the establishment and implementation of the award. The Awards Committee seeks to accomplish the benefactor's intention as effectively and sustainably as possible. The members of the committee have a duty to manage the award funds carefully and efficiently for the organization and realization of the award. All further details can be found in the Mission Statement. The Awards Committee shall consist of one representative from each of the institutions involved, namely Nature Portfolio, the Einstein Foundation Berlin, and the Max Planck Foundation, as well as the award secretary and the benefactor's representative.


Prof. Dr. Ulrich Dirnagl, Secretary, Einstein Foundation Award

Prof. Martin Rennert, Chair, Einstein Foundation Berlin


Veronique Kiermer, Chief Scientific Officer, PLOS

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Renn, Director, Max Planck Institute for the History of Science

Magdalena Skipper, Editor in Chief, Nature Portfolio

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. E. Jürgen Zöllner, Member of the Award Jury, Representative of the Award Benefactor.